Completing the Rudder Installation

Before the deck went on the rudder foot controls, and the tubes that guide the rudder control wires were installed. The Shearwater Sport in not designed to take a rudder, so I had to put some thoughts into how the rudder could be installed. Part of the prep was the significant end pour at the stern as described earlier. I purchased a stainless steel rudder bracket that attaches to a kayak both through the deck and the sides. I needed to fabricate a wedge for the top deck to account for the swept up deck. I was able to bend the tangs of the bracket to match the kayak sides and screw the bracket through the deck and sided into the hardened epoxy of the endpour.

After some trial and error with the wedge, it was painted black and then epoxied to the deck, after the deck as glassed and sanded. Then I followed the SmartTrack instructions to run the wires through the tube, I drilled holes in the deck and ran the tubes from the boat up to the deck and clamped them down. Final adjustments made and tested.

Leave a comment